|Two heads are better than one ...|
My second point is that, despite how they go about it, the necromancers of Dwimmermount are not, by and large, Chaotic in alignment. As you may recall, "Lawful" in my campaign merely means "supporting civilization against Chaos." It does not necessarily mean you're a nice guy or that your methods of supporting civilization are pleasant ones. The church of Typhon, for example, is a rock-ribbed supporter of civilization and one of its most ardent defenders, but it is Lawful (Evil), because it sees nothing wrong with the strong lording it over the weak. So, necromancers can't be Lawful (Good), owing to their practices, but they can definitely be Lawful or Lawful (Evil). A few, no doubt, slip over into Chaos, but they'd be considered apostates even among their own kind, in addition to being enemies of civilization.
The text in the quote box below is hereby designated Open Game Content via the Open Game License.
Becoming a Necromancer: A magic-user who wishes to practice necromancy must either begin play as an apprentice (1st level) necromancer or seek out a necromancer of at least 10th level to teach him its secrets. After a month's basic training, such a magic-user is now considered a necromancer and may take full advantage of its benefits -- and likewise suffers from all its drawbacks.
A magic-user may choose to abandon the practice of necromancy, but cleansing himself of its taint takes time. A period of one month per level is required, during which time the magic-user may neither use any necromancer abilities or specialty spells. During this cleansing period, the magic-user still suffers all the penalties associated with necromancy and may, if he so wishes, call on the unique powers of the class he is abandoning. Doing so, of course, ends the cleansing period, which must be begun anew should the character again decide to renounce the Black Art.
Alignment: A necromancer may be of any alignment except Lawful (Good). A Lawful (Good) magic-user who chooses to become a necromancer must change his alignment, suffering whatever penalties (if any) the referee exacts on characters who do so.
Charisma Penalties: The study of necromancy suffuses the practitioner with unwholesome energies that repel and disgust other living creatures. A necromancer's Charisma score is thus treated as two steps lower than it actually is on the Charisma Table for the purposes of determining reaction adjustment, the number of retainers, and their morale. Effective Charisma cannot drop below 3, however.
Clerical Abjuration: Necromancy is proscribed by all the gods of Men. Consequently, a necromancer -- including a penitent one during his cleansing period -- cannot receive any benefit from clerical spells, whether they be healing spells, bonuses to attack rolls or saving throws, or even magically created food and water. Clerics may associate with necromancers on a limited, mission-specific basis, but they are otherwise shunned by them.
Spells: As noted previously, necromancers have full access to the magic-user spell list. In addition, they may also learn the 3rd-level clerical spell speak with dead as if it were a magic-user spell of the same level. There are also a number of unique necromancer spells that will be described in Part III.